San Francisco Giants Announce 25-Man Roster And Opening Day Lineup


The Giants just announced the 25-man roster to begin the 2014 season and also the Opening Day lineup.

The Giants will need to purchase the contracts for Brandon Hicks and J.C. Gutierrez and there is only one spot open on the 40-man roster. By DFA’ing Roger Kieschnick, that would set the Giants at an even 40.

Marco Scutaro and Jeremy Affeldt are officially on the disabled list. Not much of a surprise there.

2014 San Francisco Giants 25-Man Roster:

Rotation (5): Madison Bumgarner, Matt Cain, Tim Hudson, Tim Lincecum, Ryan Vogelsong

Bullpen (7): Sergio Romo, Javier Lopez, Santiago Casilla, Yusmeiro Petit, David Huff, Jean Machi, J.C. Gutierrez.

Catchers (2): Buster Posey, Hector Sanchez.

Infielders (6): Brandon Belt, Joaquin Arias, Brandon Crawford, Pablo Sandoval, Brandon Hicks, Ehire Adrianza.

Outfielders (5): Angel Pagan, Hunter Pence, Michael Morse, Gregor Blanco, Juan Perez.

Tyler Colvin didn’t make the cut and will be assigned to Fresno (AAA).

Roger Kieschnick has been DFA’d.

Derek Law is being sent to Richmond (AA).

Brandon Hicks has obviously impressed the Giants coaching staff this spring.

Nick Noonan wasn’t assigned to a team yet, apparently he is injured.

Your opening day lineup is already set.

Monday starts the 162 game countdown to the end of the season, and hopefully the playoffs and World Series again for the Giants.