World Series Preview and Awards Podcast


Oct 22, 2013; Boston, MA, USA; Chris Williams paints the World Series logo on the field during media day the day before game one of the 2013 World Series between the Boston Red Sox and St. Louis Cardinals at Fenway Park. Mandatory Credit: Robert Deutsch-USA TODAY Sports

This week Eric and Chris from AtF Podcast previewed the upcoming World Series between the St. Louis Cardinals and Boston Redsox. Both Eric and Chris gave their Series winners and Series MVP winners. Here is a breakdown of each of their picks for both.

Eric has predicted the Boston Redsox will win the Series in 6 games, with Mike Napoli winning World Series MVP. Chris went with St. Louis winning in 7, with David Carpenter as his Series MVP.

A couple things with this series that both agreed on was, Cardinals have the edge with starting pitching and Redsox have the edge with hitting. This should be an extremely entertaining series and I would very surprised if it goes anywhere less than 6 games. I believe this will come down to which bullpen has the biggest hiccup.

We also gave out our regular season awards for this past season. These awards included MVP, Cy Young, Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year and LVP (Least Valuable Player).

Both of us agreed on MVP, Cy Young and Manager of the Year (NL only, as we had different picks for the AL)

Our American League MVP was Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers. Much like last season this will be a 2 man race, between Cabrera and Mike Trout of the Angels. The tie breaker for both of us on this award was the team each played with, we do understand that a player cannot control who he has been surrounded by on the field. It’s hard to argue for either player in this case but we both went with Carbrera as a repeat winner.

The hardest decision for any of the awards was by far the National League MVP and we both agreed on Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates. McCutchen had a very similar year to last years NL MVP Buster Posey, not the best numbers but carried his team to a post-season birth.

Both Cy Young awards were an extremely easy decision and both our picks will be announced in a few weeks when the official announcements will be made. American League winner was Max Scherzer of the Detroit Tigers.

National League winner was Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers

Manager of the Year, an award that neither of us is really a big fan of. To me its an award that does to a manager thats team overachieved during the season. National Manager of the Year was Clint Hurdle of the Pittsburgh Pirates We both differed on our American League Manager of the Year and those were as follows, Eric went with John Farrell of the Boston Redsox and I went with Terry Francona of the Cleveland Indians. We both went with the same player for American League Rookie of the Year and that was Wil Myers of the Tampa Bay Rays

Our National League Rookies were different.

Eric went with Yasiel Puig of the Dodgers

My pick was Jose Fernandez of the Miami Marlins

For our LVP Eric went with Josh Hamilton of the LA Angels and I went with JP Arencibia of the Toronto Bluejays

Our National League LVP award went to BJ Upton of the Atlanta Braves

We each also picked our biggest disappointments as far as teams go and both agreed on the Toronto Blue Jays in the American League and the Washington Nationals in the National League

Make sure to listen to the podcast below

Online Baseball Radio at Blog Talk Radio with Around the Foghorn Podcast on BlogTalkRadio